News Release: The Manitoba Human Rights Commission
November 30, 2010

Free hugs, a deeply moving film, and years of accomplishments top the 2010 Manitoba Human Rights Awards

The Manitoba Association for Rights and Liberties, the Canadian Human Rights Commission and the Manitoba Human Rights Commission proudly announce the recipients of this year's Human Rights Awards.

This year's Human Rights Commitment Award of Manitoba focuses on an individual or a group who has advanced human rights through the arts. "The nominations were exceptional," says Sherri Helgason, Director at the Canadian Human Rights Commission, "which made the final decision very difficult."

So difficult in fact, that the panel declared a tie for the Commitment Award. "The two recipients are very different; one a personal labour of dedication and love, and the other, a showcase of years of achievements," says Ms Helgason.

Ernesto Griffith and Winston Moxam of Winesto Films Incorporated for their truly magnificent film, "Billy' and,

The Manitoba Theatre for Young People for the achievement of promoting human rights and social transformation for almost 30 years.

The 2010 recipient for the Sybil Shack Human Rights Youth Award is the Leadership Team of Voices: Manitoba's Youth in Care Network for their simply amazing "Free Hug Day Campaign."

Everyone, including those working in the field of human rights and the arts, is encouraged to attend the award reception to congratulate this year's recipients.

Please note that the date that the recipients will be honoured has changed to December 7, 2010. A reception in the Manitoba Legislative Dining Room will take place between 5:00 pm and 7:00 pm. Tickets are $20.00 and available by contacting the Manitoba Human Rights Commission at 945-3007 or


For more information please contact:
Patricia Knipe
Communications Director
Manitoba Human Rights Commission