News Release: The Manitoba Human Rights Commission

November 22, 2012

Seven Manitobans to receive Human Rights Awards

The Manitoba Association for Rights and Liberties, the Canadian Human Rights Commission and the Manitoba Human Rights Commission proudly announce the recipients of the 2012 Human Rights Awards. These awards are given out every year in celebration of International Human Rights Day.

The Annual Human Rights Commitment Award of Manitoba recognizes those who have promoted respect for human rights and fundamental freedoms and have advanced the rights of Manitobans. 

The Recipients of the 2012 Human Rights Commitment Award of Manitoba are:

  • Jane Burpee, Education Coordinator with the Manitoba Schizophrenia Society
  • The Rainbow Resource Centre, a major resource and support centre serving Manitoba's gay, Lesbian, Bi Sexual, Transgendered and Two Spirited LGBTT communities
  • Louise Simbandumwe, Director of SEED Winnipeg's Asset Building Programs and founder of Run for Rights

The Annual Sybil Shack Human Rights Youth Award recognizing work of a person or group of people, 25 years old and under that has had an impact on the advancement of human rights as guaranteed in the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms and human rights legislation in Manitoba.

The recipients of the Sybil Shack Human Rights Youth award for 2012 are:

  • Ayla and Van Hamilton of Major Pratt School, Russell Manitoba
  • Muuxi Adam, After School Program Coordinator at the Immigrant and Refugee Community Organization of Manitoba Inc.
  • Chelsea Caldwell, a second year student at the University of Winnipeg

Everyone is encouraged to attend the award reception in honour of this year’s recipients. The reception will be held at the United Way Building, 580 Main Street, on December 6, 2012 from 6:00 pm to 8:00 pm.  The recipients will receive their awards at 6:30. There is no charge, however, if you wish to attend this event, please register here or call the number below.

For more information please contact:

Patricia Knipe
Communications Director
Manitoba Human Rights Commission

Background 2012 Human Rights Commitment of Manitoba Award Recipients